Threatened with jail for falling behind by $270. Is this really America?

The Child Representative filed her third contempt motion on me.  She got permission from the judge to file it last time we were in court while I was receiving veiled threats of jail for filing a motion.  According to my calculations I’m behind on her bill by $270.00.  Is this really America?  Where you can be threatened with jail for less than $300?  I was short on a couple of my payments this summer after having knee surgery.  The child representative received four separate doctor notes that stated I could not stand for more than 15 minutes but she said nothing, until she filed her Contempt Motion.  We all complain about our taxes being too high.  How much does this Motion going through the courts and setting for hearing cost in our tax dollars?  How does this impact my ability to make a living, answering to all of these motions?  Would a friendly note and reminder on being behind been in order?  Or, God forbid, a friendly call to ask how my recovery from surgery was going?  Or just a threat of JAIL!  I didn’t know we still had debtor prisons in this country but apparently they’re alive and well. And, in the meantime, she’s adding to my bill by drafting, filing and presenting this Motion.  When will it ever end???

20130917-105004.jpg

Leave a Reply

